Day 50/366 : On Sanity and Insanity

I love Emily Dickinson’s poem. On sanity one of her poems goes thus:

Much Madness is divinest Sense

EMILY DICKINSON

Much Madness is divinest Sense –
To a discerning Eye –
Much Sense – the starkest Madness –
’Tis the Majority
In this, as all, prevail –
Assent – and you are sane –
Demur – you’re straightway dangerous –
And handled with a Chain –

Edgar Allan Poe says about insanity:

I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity.

Don McLean, in his famous song Vincent, shares his realization with Vincent Van Gogh saying :

Now I understand
What you tried to say to me
And how you suffered for your sanity
And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen, they did not know how
Perhaps they’ll listen now

I love to be an insane more than a sane, because, insanity is my only sanity. The so called sanity suffocates me. I am good with my insanity! Voila!

image

Day 50/366 : On Sanity and Insanity

Leave a Reply

